Sylvan Runkel

Sylvan Runkel (1906­–1995) was the coauthor of five books about midwestern wildflowers, including Wildflowers of the Tallgrass Prairie (Iowa paperback, 2009) and Wildflowers of Iowa Woodlands (Iowa paperback, 2009). A vigorous promoter of conservation for many years, he was honored by the dedication of the Sylvan Runkel State Preserve in 1996.